California Marijuana Laws
In the state of California, possession of marijuana is decriminalized. Possessing 28.5 grams or less is enough to be fined for $100. If you posses the 28.5 grams or less as a minor its considered a misdemeanor and you could be sentenced to 10 days of jail or a $250 fine.
If you have more than the 28.5 grams of marijuana it is also a misdemeanor which can lead to 6 months behind bars or a $500 fine. Carrying such amounts of marijuana could easily lead to charges of intent to distribute which carry much higher fines.
If you cultivate without a medical marijuana card, regardless of the amount, it will be consider a felony. This offense could be punishable by 16-36 months in prison.
If you distribute 28.5 grams or less without any compensation California will consider it to be a misdemeanor. Taking compensation would be considered a felony and you could face up to 2-4 years in prison.
Distribution of 28.5 grams by a minor is a misdemeanor and could be charged up to $250. Distributing to a minor is a much more serious offense. It is considered a felony and could find you behind bards for 3-5 years.
If you happen to be under the age of 21 and are convicted, you could lose your license up to 1 year.
Side Note: These laws may not be 100% up to date or 100% accurate for every county in California. We do our best to keep this information up to date but cannot offer a guarantee on the validity of all statements.